Swain: Josh Palmer "Best Wide Receiver" in Fall Camp

DiderotsGhost

A few encouraging signs among the Wide Receiver group. Still think this has the potential to be our most improved position group.

RTI: Josh Palmer "Best Wide Receiver in Fall Camp

“The best wide receiver, in my opinion, this fall camp…it is not Jauan Jennings, not Marquez Callaway, it’s Josh Palmer,” Swain stated during Monday’s Swain Event show. “He’s been the most consistent wide receiver. He’s been the best wide receiver in this fall camp.”

“When I saw him last year working as a freshman, I was standing next to Fred White or somebody, and I was like ‘Man, he looks physically developed,'” Swain continued. “He looked like he was ready to play physically. Now, mentally, he had just started to play the position two or three years before. So he was just starting to learn how to play the position.”

Swain also high on Jordan Murphy.

“Jordan Murphy has been almost as impressive as Palmer,” Swain said. “He’s been strong. You have a strong five right now.”

Murphy only caught one pass for 12 yards in seven games last year for the Vols, but he’s looked like one of the more consistent and competent receivers even during the open portions of practice that the media can attend. He’s worked his way into the main rotation at receiver, and Swain likes what he brings to Tennessee’s receiving corps along with Palmer.

I'm not too worried about Jennings. He just needs to recover. If JJ is healthy, and we indeed see significant improvements from Murphy and Palmer, and potential contributions from Tillman and even Tyler Byrd, the WR group could be much better than last season.

A little separation, fast cuts, and QB who can pass accurately would allow us big orange fans to have something to cheer about. I expect us to have a good running game but if we can't mix it up teams will load up on us.

Reactions: TennesseeTarheel