GEN Bob Neyland Silver Anniversary Picture

The General is smirking at us all thinking "hmph, not good enough."

Seriously, great pic. Thanks for posting.:thumbsup:

143-23-11, and that’s with two WWII-depleted squads in ’47 and ’48.

It’s always good to show the youngsters what happened when their granddads and great granddads were young. UT didn’t become one of the best football schools by chance. There was an all-time great at the helm.

Reactions: 1 person
When I was stationed at West Point as an instructor, I went up to the new Army Athletics Hall of Fame by the football stadium to visit GEN Neyland's display. Made me proud to know that he is so closely associated with UT. He's not just a football legend, he was a man who served his Nation proudly and well during WW II (and before).

Reactions: 4 people
in no way am I comparing Butch Jones to The General, but I think it's pretty interesting and cool how similar they look. hopefully, CBJ ends up being just as good aS the general.

Reactions: 2 people
Wow, he was awesome BEFORE he came to Knoxville:

Player Bio: Robert Reese Neyland Jr.

Robert Reese Neyland Jr.

Baseball/Boxing/Football

Army's career leader in pitching victories, Bob Neyland authored a 35-5 record during his West Point career. Listed second among the Black Knights' all-time leaders in winning percentage (.875), Neyland won 20 consecutive games during one stretch in the "Black, Gold and Gray." He also fired the first no-hitter in Army history when he blanked Colgate in 1914.

An undefeated heavyweight boxing champion for three years running in the Corps of Cadets (1914-16), Neyland also lettered in football and was a member of Army's undefeated 1914 club.