Trying to Help

surrealvol

Since I graduated from U.T. a number of years ago, I have tried to keep my eyes and ears open for recruits up here in Virginia.

Only a very few times have I felt I could really recommend a player to our coaches, a few times in football, a couple times in track, and once in baseball.

I have proceeded to recommend these athletes and only once, about five years ago, have I heard anything at all from the coach I sent information to.

Each of the players I recommended have gone to big schools and done well, so I felt like my judgment was okay.

The thing that bothers me is that I never heard from the coaches, so I just don't recommend anyone anymore.

Any like experiences or thoughts?

Thats cool, you are able to provide the info etc. Im not sure where in Va you are, But i know their is a ton of talent its seems from NOVA. Upwards towards norfolk, Va beach, Hampton etc.

We seen a few pass thru SWVA, closer here to home. The only SwVa kid i can remember off the bat was Alex Wall's, as for UT players.

The rest tend to lean towards Nasty OL' VA TECH :disappointed:

Baseball is a little different. Ive seen more locals as for swva, get a shot at possible big time Ball, Even played with or against a few myself.

I played football with 2 different high schools, and at both, we took butt whippings yr in and yr out, from Gate City. Sorry got off the topic, But do think its pretty neat you get to see some of the talent out there and feel like, they may have a chance. Is it UT coaches that you speak to or recomend players etc to?

Either way it only seems fit, you get an att'a boy down the road from whomever.

Originally posted by surrealvol@Jun 18, 2005 1:25 AM
Since I graduated from U.T. a number of years ago, I have tried to keep my eyes and ears open for recruits up here in Virginia.

Only a very few times have I felt I could really recommend a player to our coaches, a few times in football, a couple times in track, and once in baseball.