Submarine maker to add jobs amid $39 billion backlog in work

Had to laugh about Dick Blumenthal talking about “Un-manned” missions

Welders get much better pay and probably better working conditions in a shipyard than on a pipeline.

Submarine maker to add jobs amid $39 billion backlog in work

I am no expert such as yourself on pipelines, but would guess they use automatic welding systems for long range pipelines., so this not about welders. It is the concrete for the footers, valve and pump manfacturers, steel and pipe manufacturers, crane operators, truckers, laborers. A ripple of jobs.

No mention of wages. Who’s going to pay to relocate the families? Who the hell wants to live in Connecticut?

I had a friend in 1992 in Mooresville, NC that was hispanic and from Conn. I was new in town, fresh out of college and living at the Country Club Apts just across the street from the municipal golf course. I met him because his boss at the prop shop was my next door neighbor and became a friend, who incidentally was a big UT fan. BTW, he borrowed my 1991 UT/ND game VHS tape and never got it back..lol

Eddie from Conn was such a good guy and told me all bout the situation with gangs and such and how glad he was out of Conn, and everyone trated him like a brother. He did not undertand UT football, but somehow he understood.

Those early days were so great...everyone hung at the pool, played tennis, shoot hoops, rode bikes around the golf course golf cart track late evening, mothers watched out for each others children, kids pilled up in my little apartment to watch football. I would take Willie, who was one of the few black kids to the store to buy him some candy and made sure he was part of the group, NASCAR crewman would bring home a car and crank it up on a Sat morning and wake everyone up and no one cared.

A crappy constructed low cost home for everyone and it was just great. That seemed so American to me.