Tennessee Attorney General Jonathan Skrmetti went to bat for the Vols vs. the NCAA

Clever move, if that in fact was the reason that the NCAA didn't impose a bowl ban---but also a ridiculous, nonsense argument, in my opinion. You can't ban a team from playing in a bowl because it would hurt the players ability to make money? Ha, laughable.

Reactions: BucksnortVol
Clever move, if that in fact was the reason that the NCAA didn't impose a bowl ban---but also a ridiculous, nonsense argument, in my opinion. You can't ban a team from playing in a bowl because it would hurt the players ability to make money? Ha, laughable.

While I agree, the threat of litigation by the State of Tennessee is probably a headache that the NCAA didn’t want to deal with. An unfavorable ruling against them could have absolutely crippled them further.

I have no problem with the AG at all. There are a few reasons.

I was a freshman at WKU before I transferred to UT my sophomore year. I was in a dorm with the wku football players. Scholarship players could eat and had a place to stay, and yes, they got an education. However, having a job could possibly get someone into trouble if one was not in the in group of teams such as the bamers, etc and if, for example, one did not have laundry money, it was not quite as easy to "legally" acquire it like a regular joe because of a stupid organization's control. I told my father about that and have kept that same belief even to today.