Help with my History work.

stephenk24

Back after a long nap
Hey guys,

I am studying US civil rights from Reconstuction till Obama's re election at school. I am absolutely loving it, I find it fascinating. But I digress...

Part of the course is producing a piece of coursework (a long essay) which counts as half of my grade for this year.

You can choose any topic surrounding the course to write about, so my choice is... Drum roll, how significant was the role of African American athletes in the civil rights movement.

Now what I could do with a hand from you guys with is some recommendations. Specifically to do with the vols.

Are there any Vols players or coaches that specifically were significant in civil rights? Seeing as the south features heavily, was there a sort of Jackie Robinson type athlete that went to Tennessee that affected Southern White views of African Americans?

Any sort of recommendation of an article, book, film would be great. I need to do my research starting now to write it next January. Or just an athlete to research would be good.

Failing that, any good material on college football and African American athletes?

This will help form part of my argument.

Thanks so much,

Stephen

As is already posted. Holloway. Espn did a special tv documentary called "the condredge holloway story". You might want to see about downloading or getting a copy. A must see for any vol fan, and is partially on point with your assignment

Also look into the interaction of Bear Bryant and segregation. I was in Alabama when he integrated the team and it was entertaining to say the least.

Definitely.....Condredge Holloway.

In the early 70s, having a black guy to play the key 'thinking/leadership' position of quarterback....in the Southeastern Conference....it was mind boggling at the time.